WSP wins multiple honours at ACEC-MB Awards

WSP Transportation professionals received several high-profile awards in Manitoba.

WSP Transportation professionals received several high-profile awards at the 20th annual ACEC-MB Awards of Excellence, after a similarly strong showing at the BC awards.

WSP received a Lifetime Achievement Award, an Award of Excellence — Owner’s Engineering Services, and an Engineering Action Award. The awards were presented at a gala at the Metropolitan Entertainment Centre in Winnipeg on April 9.


img-Bruce Wilton

Bruce Wilton won the Lifetime Achievement Award from ACEC-MB.

Lifetime Achievement Award: Bruce Wilton, P. Eng

Bruce Wilton, Senior Project Manager, Transportation, won the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award. Bruce has 47 years of engineering experience, including 23 years within the consulting industry. Bruce led the way in developing a process for the use of design-build as a procurement model for Manitoba. He assisted the City of Winnipeg in developing P3 business cases, and led Manitoba’s first design-build project, CentrePort Canada Way. He has served as a mentor to young engineers, and is active in community service with the Kiwanis, his church and his local barbershop quartet. He served on the ACEC-MB board for six years, including a term as president in 2011/2012.

Award of Excellence: Design-build intersection upgrades (PTH 59/101 and PTH 59/202)

A WSP project team won the Award of Excellence — Owner’s Engineering Services for the design-build of intersection upgrades at PTH 59/101 and PTH 59/PR202. The interchange was the largest single project ever awarded in Manitoba and WSP were selected to assist the Province of Manitoba with the Functional Design, Procurement and Construction Oversight. The project also won the 2019 Collaborative Project of the Year Award from the San Francisco based International Partnering Institute (IPI). The project was also named runner-up for the 2019 PMI Manitoba Project of the Year award.

img-Team Award of Excellence from ACEC-MB

A WSP project team won an Award of Excellence from ACEC-MB. L-R: Back: Mark Warkentin, Don McRitchie (Manitoba Infrastructure), Richard Tebinka Front: Bruce Wilton, Grantley King.

img-Richard Tebinka

Richard Tebinka won the Engineering Action Award from ACEC-MB.

Engineering Action Award: Richard Tebinka, P. Eng

Richard Tebinka, Manager, Manitoba Transportation, won the Engineering Action Award. Richard has over 35 years of engineering consulting experience, and specializes in transportation planning and engineering. He has led many significant and high-profile transportation projects for both the City of Winnipeg and Province of Manitoba. Richard has contributed to many professional organizations over the course of his career, both provincially and nationally. He has been an ACEC-MB board member for the last seven years, including a term as president in 2017/2018. He has also been involved in community service though 1st Sun Valley Scouting for the past 16 years.