WSP laboratories have a proud history dating back more than 65 years. Over that time we have provided experimental research and testing that assisted the design and construction of major national infrastructure projects, such as hydroelectric power schemes, state highways, airports, railways and marine ports.

Sector

Service


Our network of eleven IANZ (International Accreditation of New Zealand) laboratories provide accredited test reports, specialist independent consulting services, materials testing and analysis for engineering construction materials using a multi-disciplinary team of highly trained technicians and technical specialists.

Our management and operating procedures are externally audited and accredited to both the International Quality Management System ISO 9001:2008 and General requirements for the Competence of Testing and Calibration Laboratories NZS/ ISO/IEC 17025:2005.

Our laboratories hold the widest range of mechanical testing accreditation in New Zealand having been registered since February 1975 under IANZ (formally TELARC) for the classes of test.

(NATA is the Australian equivalent of the New Zealand IANZ accreditation system).

 

Our capability and experience in laboratories covers:

  • Aggregates
  • Bitumen
  • Concrete
  • Construction Monitoring
  • Geotechnical Investigations
  • Pavement Investigations
  • Road Roughness Measurements
  • Soils and Geomechanics Testing
  • CPT (Cone Penetration Testing)
  • Offshore Testing

The accredited tests will vary between individual laboratories but may include all or portions of the services above.

Additionally, the Auckland laboratory and WSP Research in Wellington are MPI (Ministry of Primary Industries) approved as transitional facilities and are able to receive and test, as above, samples from throughout the world.

Location
Manager
Address
Contact
Email
Whangarei
Ian Twichel
56 Port Rd
0274723209
Ian.Twichel@WSP.com
Auckland
Stephen McCone
Unit 7A, Ride Way
0274450287
Stephen.McCone@WSP.com
Hamilton
Sarah Amoore
4 Fox St, Hamilton
0274721598
Sarah.Amoore@WSP.com
Tauranga
Bruce Hudson
278 Chadwick Rd
0274759497
Bruce.Hudson@WSP.com
Rotorua
John O’Connor
35 Vaughan Road
0274866757
John.OConnor@WSP.com
Gisborne
Alan Pheasant
59 Awapuni Rd
0274068387
Alan.Pheasant@WSP.com
Napier
Arthur Ching
90 Prebensen Drive
0274491721
Arthur.Ching@WSP.com
Whanganui
Rhys Jones
16 Pacific Place
0274814581
Rhys.Jones@WSP.com
New Plymouth
Rowan Carlyle
13 Constance Street
0272207491
Rowan.Carlyle@WSP.com
Wellington
Sheldon Bruce
33 The Esplanade
0274510415
Sheldon.Bruce@WSP.com
Christchurch
Simon Kenton-Todd
52C Hayton Road
0272050071
Simon.Kenton-Todd@WSP.com
Gisborne
Martin Hemmington
59 Awapuni Road
0272371180
Martin.Hemmington@WSP.com