Laboratories

WSP laboratories have a proud history dating back more than 65 years. Over that time we have provided experimental research and testing that assisted the design and construction of major national infrastructure projects, such as hydroelectric power schemes, state highways, airports, railways and marine ports.

Our network of eleven IANZ (International Accreditation of New Zealand) laboratories provide accredited test reports, specialist independent consulting services, materials testing and analysis for engineering construction materials using a multi-disciplinary team of highly trained technicians and technical specialists.

Our management and operating procedures are externally audited and accredited to both the International Quality Management System ISO 9001 and General requirements for the Competence of Testing and Calibration Laboratories NZS/ ISO/IEC 17025

Our laboratories hold the widest range of mechanical testing accreditation in New Zealand having been registered since February 1975 under IANZ (formally TELARC) for the classes of test.

(NATA is the Australian equivalent of the New Zealand IANZ accreditation system).

 

Our capability and experience in laboratories covers:

  • Aggregates
  • Bitumen
  • Concrete
  • Construction Monitoring
  • Geotechnical Investigations
  • Pavement Investigations
  • Road Roughness Measurements
  • Soils and Geomechanics Testing
  • Cone Penetration Testing
  • Offshore Testing

 

The accredited tests will vary between individual laboratories but may include all or portions of the services above.

WSP Laboratory Locations

Additionally, the Auckland laboratory is MPI (Ministry of Primary Industries) approved as a transitional facility and can receive and process test samples from throughout the world.

Location

Manager

Address

Contact

Email

Whangarei

Ian Twichel

56 Port Rd

0274723209

Ian.Twichel@WSP.com

Auckland

Stephen McCone

Unit 7A, Ride Way

0274450287

Stephen.McCone@WSP.com

Hamilton

Sarah Amoore

4 Fox St

0274721598

Sarah.Amoore@WSP.com

Tauranga

Bruce Hudson

278 Chadwick Rd

0274759497

Bruce.Hudson@WSP.com

Rotorua

Portly Griffiths

35 Vaughan Road

0272147768

Portly.Griffiths@WSP.com

Napier

Arthur Ching

10 Cadbury Rd

0274491721

Arthur.Ching@WSP.com

Whanganui

Rhys Jones

16 Pacific Place

0274814581

Rhys.Jones@WSP.com

New Plymouth

Rowan Carlyle

13 Constance Street

0272207491

Rowan.Carlyle@WSP.com

Wellington

Sheldon Bruce

33 The Esplanade

0274510415

Sheldon.Bruce@WSP.com

Christchurch

Simon Kenton-Todd

52C Hayton Road

0272050071

Simon.Kenton-Todd@WSP.com